Cultural Immersion

What cultural experience would be complete without an encounter with the country’s medical system? So when I wound up in the emergency room with a torn ligament today, I did what any rational patient would do: I took pictures.

Doctor’s Station

View 1 from the examination table.

View 2 from the examination table
View 3 reclining on the examination table


I found the experience riveting, beginning with the smoke-filled hallways and waiting rooms. In exchange for my first and last name, and age, I was immediately admitted into the emergency room. After a short wait, a young doctor clad in street clothing knelt down, proceeded to poke my ankle, look at my wincing face, and promptly declare the ligament to be torn, prescribing me painkillers without a single question regarding my medical history. House would’ve loved the medical system here. 🙂 And then I was out the door. No insurance, no fees, and no forms. Just a “ciao.”


About this entry